Workshop on Digital Control for Power Systems

Newton (ESTEC)



Keplerlaan 1, 2201AZ Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Arturo Fernandez (European Space Agency)

Digital Control is knocking on our door since a few years ago and, at some point, the door will be opened. New digital devices will end up entering into Space Power Systems hopefully to bring new features and system level advantages. However, as in any engineering trade off,  they will also bring new questions and new challenges.

To be ready for it, ESA has decided to organise a Workshop on Digital Control for Power Systems, to be held at ESTEC on the 22nd of June 2017.

The idea is to have some presentations in the morning showing the different views of Agencies and Industry, innovative ideas from research centres as well as state of the art digital devices.

The afternoon will be dedicated to an open discussion where everyone is invited to participate. The goal of this discussion is to answer some key questions that could help giving directions for the next steps to take. In order to focus the discussion, you can prepare a short presentation in which the proposed questions are answered. Ideally, 1 slide per question. In this way, we could put face to face the different views on the key points. Of course, you can also join the discussion without any presentation.

The detailed Timetable can be checked on the left side menu.

Please register for the workshop by filling the relevant form found in this website (form).

Registration deadline: 19th June 

Questions for the Open discussion

  • Are we ready for Digital Control?
  • Should Digital Control simply mock Analogue control?
  • Or should we start from scratch rethinking at system level the Power System?
  • What new features (enabled by Digital Control) would be more welcome?
  • Which digital device do we ideally need for Space Power Systems? 
  • Alain VAN ESBEEN
  • Alessandro Contissa
  • Andreas Franke
  • Andreas Svensson
  • Arturo Fernandez
  • Bekemans Marc
  • Björn Olsson
  • Bruno Samaniego
  • Christian Demitri
  • Christian Elisabelar
  • Christophe Delepaut
  • Claudio Monteleone
  • David Levacq
  • Dionisio Pilerci
  • Dirk Thurnes
  • Emilio Lapeña
  • Ezio Ciancetta
  • Felice Forrisi
  • Ferdinando Tonicello
  • Fernando Gómez Carpintero
  • Fernando Pintó
  • Filippo Pellitteri
  • Fossion Marc
  • Francisco Javier Moreno Carrillo
  • Franz Stögerer
  • François Bausier
  • François BONNET
  • GANRY Nicolas
  • Gilles BEAUFILS
  • Hadrien Carbonnier
  • Hans Jensen
  • Jonas Gieselmann
  • João Lourenço
  • Jussi Hannula
  • Laurent RIVIERE
  • Luca Corradini
  • Luca Ghislanzoni
  • Luigi Schirone
  • Luigi Schirone
  • Marc Fossion
  • Marcos Compadre Torrecilla
  • Mariel Triggianese
  • Martin Persson
  • Matthias Gollor
  • Mattia Vecchiarelli
  • Michael NOTARIANNI
  • michail tourloukis
  • Moysis Tsamsakizoglou
  • Nicolas Neugnot
  • Pablo Fernandez
  • Pablo Zumel
  • Pilar Mingorance
  • Silvia Moranti
  • Stefano Costantini
  • Teobaldo Grassi
  • Theodor Stana
  • Thomas Hintze
  • Thomas Panhofer
  • Tim Strous
  • Uwe Gieselmann
  • Veronique Ferlet-Cavrois
  • Vladimir Svikovic
  • Volodymyr Burkhay